news
Instant payments with PayPal

Backing up using the Windows Server Backup component

EN
Ekaterina Neverova
May 25, 2020

Backing up important information is a good habit in system administration to save valuable time. Let’s look at how to save yourself from the torment of the “X” hour using the Windows Server Backup component.

What is Windows Server Backup?

Windows Server Backup is an integrated component of the Windows Server family of operating systems designed to back up and work with the OS.

Getting started with the setup

From the Start menu, start Server Manager.

In the Server Manager window that opens, select «Add Roles and Features».

In the opened window of the Add Roles and Components Wizard, in the left part of the window, select “Installation Type”, in the right — “Install Roles or Components” and click on the “Next” button.

In the updated window, at the server selection stage, select the current one from the pool. Click “Next”.

In the updated wizard window, in its left part, click on “Components”. In the central part of the window, in the main part of the window, select “Windows Server Data Archiving System”. Click on the button “Next”.

At the confirmation stage, click on the “Install” button.

Waiting for the installation process to finish.

In the end, click the «Close» button.

The Server Manager window remains open. In the upper-right part, select «Tools». In the menu that opens, select “Windows Server Data Backup System”.

In the «wbadmin» window that opens, on the left side, select «Local backup», on the right side actions with the local backup will be available. Set up a backup according to the schedule — select “Archiving schedule …”.

In the window that opens, the activation schedule wizard, at the initial stage, click on the “Next” button.

The next step is to choose the type of configuration — the entire server or something specific. Create a copy of the entire server. Click «Next».

Now you need to decide how many times a day to back up and at what time. Too often, this is not recommended. It’s also better to set up backups at the end of the working day or longer before it starts. In our case, let it be 09:00 pm. Click “Next”.

Now choose “where” the backup copy will be saved. It makes sense to leave the parameter recommended by the system. If desired, you can select and save to a network folder, but it is important to remember that the process will greatly depend on the speed of the local network. Click “Next”.

In the updated wizard window, select the destination disk. Click on the button “Show all available disks …”. First, you need to create an additional disk for backups in the «Settings» section of your server, the «Disks» tab.

In the child window that opens, other (non-system) disks will be shown. Check the box next to the required media.
Important! We recommend that you make backups to physical disks, not logical disks.

Click on the “OK” button.

The selected disk is added to the General list of available disks. Mark it with a tick and click «Next».

The system will notify you that you want to format previously selected disks. We respond by clicking on the “Yes” button.

At the stage of confirming operations, if all actions are correct, click the “Finish” button.

After short formatting of the disk, the program will notify you of the successful creation of the event in the scheduler, and also indicate the date of the first backup. Click on the “Close” button.

The result of the backup can be viewed in the central part of the wbadmin window.

Consider restoring from a backup

All in the same wbadmin window, in its right part, click on “Restore …”.

In the recovery wizard window, select the location where the archive with the backup copy is stored. Select “This server” and click on the “Next” button.

The next step is to select the backup date and click “Next”.

In the updated window, you have to select “What needs to be restored”, for example, “Files and folders”. Click  “Next ”.

Select all files and directories located on the “C: «disk. Press the button “Next”.

At the next stage, you need to decide what to do with the files, if any already exist. The choice of this action is up to the system administrator. We will overwrite these files. Click «Next».

In the next step, we check the directories that will be restored. In case everything is indicated correctly, click “Restore”.

We are waiting for the recovery process to complete. In the end, click the «Close» button.

Important! The process may take some time.

Start Your Cloud Journey Migration made simplified. Take the first step right now.
We use cookies to provide our services and for analytics and marketing. To find out more about our use of cookies, please see our Privacy Policy. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies.